Preview of the 1.5 Graphic Improvements

I just felt like jumping around in the library because I got the new multisampling (Antialiasing!) feature in iOS4 working, here’s a life screenshot from my iPod 3Gen:

For comparison, here’s another Screenshot, but without Antialiasing:

For those interested in the accompanying code, I forward you to apples developer forums, I basically copied the code presented by “Frogblast” in this thread. (You need an apple dev account to enter, yet I reckon if you’re interested in it, you have one).

Also another Screenshot, showing the great look of Tactica on the iPhone 4’s retina display (scaled up in the simulator, just imagine it being scaled down to 3.5 inches)

But:

It does hurt the framerates! (Further FPS-Analysis follows)

2 Responses to “Preview of the 1.5 Graphic Improvements”

  1. Hello!

    I am working on a long awaited updated to my retro game “Vector Tanks Extreme” and and DYING trying to figure out how to implement full screen antialiasing. I see from your forum posts that you seem to have gotten it working.

    Would you be willing to share the secret? I’ve been scouring the internet for a sample and haven’t been able to find ANYTHING. I’m getting really frustrated.

    I’d be happy to pay you for your time and advice.

    Sincerely yours,
    Peter Hirschberg

    THANK YOU!!

    • Hey, sure I’m happy to help!

      But honestly I really only copied the code from frogblasts post in the iPhone Developer Forums:
      https://devforums.apple.com/thread/45850
      Also you can download WWDC Session 415, where the concepts are explained in more detail.

      I guess since the forums are for iPhone Developers only, they don’t really like if I just copy their code here.

      Though I guess its ok if I email it to you 🙂

      Best Regards

      Konrad

Leave a Reply

